Is It Cubs Baseball Time Yet???

  So, upon checking my faceboook account I noticed that there were pictures posted of the Chicago Cubs spring training and I must say I felt that adrenaline course through my veins and my heart raced as I thought about what the new year might bring for what I consider the best baseball team.  I can’t believe how much I am longing for the smell of the fresh cut grass, the crack of the ball off of the bat and the sounds of the cheering fans.  Unfortunately, I live in Utah and currently it is blizzarding outside and covering everything in white.  Not my favorite season.  However, I have seen glimpses of the spring on the horizon and I can’t wait to watch my favorite team every chance I get.

There have been a lot of changes to the Cubs this year, both on the team and in the office.  I guess the coming months will show us if the changes are for the good, but for the most part I see the positive.  I have watched my favorite players get traded for the past few years, so it came as no surprise when I watched Sean Marshall get traded.  I don’t understand why we would trade one of the best lefty relievers in the business, but hey, I am sure they had a reason for it.  He will be missed, I never did get a chance to get his jersey last year…

On to brighter things.  I do agree with the let go of Jim hendry, he made some pretty bad moves for us, but he did bring Kerry Wood back into the mix and thankfully the Cubs were smart enough to tender him another contract.  It wasn’t the same without him and most of us Chicago fans see that he lives and breathes Chicago so who better to play for us? 🙂  I hated seeing him playing for the Indians and the Yankees.  They couldn’t appreciate his dedication or his mentoring to other pitchers, but in Chicago with the amazing fan base, he is definitely appreciated and wanted.

I think that Starlin Castro will be a good fit once his fielding comes around.  He showed us how well he could handle the production part of the game, now he just needs to fix the errors and I think he will be a force to be reckoned with at short stop.  Although, I have made it clear I wasn’t very happy when we lost Ryan Theriot.  I was a big fan of The Riot, Mike Fontenot and Mark DeRosa.  I hated losing all three of them, though they aren’t the best in the game, I just love the way they played.  Fontenot was scrappy as he isn’t very big so he had to be, Theriot made some plays that surprised most and DeRosa just completed the trio.  The years haven’t been kind to DeRosa with his wrist injury and the surgery seeming to have made it worse, but I am a big fan of his.  Ryan Theriot now plays for the Cardinals and Mike Fontenot and Mark DeRosa are both Giants.  The sad and funny part all in one, is the fact that after they left the Cubs all three of them are now owners of World Series rings.  I just wish they could have done it with my beloved Cubbies.

Luckily, I get to keep abreast of the going ons with my Cubbies as I anxiously read my Vineline’s every month.  Here is hoping that this year is better than any other year!

All of you Cubs fans out there, let me know who your favorite Cub is past or present and why they are your favorite.  Go Cubs Go!!

Leave a comment